Robert T. Carlson

Pastor/Head of Staff
517 349-9536 ext. 11

Alice Fleming Townley

Parish Associate
517 349-9536 ext. 12

Sue Schnackenberg

Director of Children’s and Youth Ministries
517 349-9536 ext. 14

Laurie Horstman

Administrative Assistant
517 349-9536 ext. 0

Connor Koppin

Choir Director

Edward Ennen


Ruling Elders

  • As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament church provided persons with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people. Accordingly, congregations should elect persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit. Ruling elders are so named not because they “lord it over” the congregation (Matt. 20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships.
    Definition of “Ruling Elder” from The Book of Order (G-2.0301)
Ruling elders are generally elected for three-year terms at the annual meeting of the congregation. Ruling elders serve on one or more of the committees that govern the mission of the church. To contact an elder check the Frequently Used Contacts or use the general Contact Form.

Jeff Arbour

Class of '22
Administration, Property, Endowment

Keith Camann

Class of ’20
Mission, Stewardship

Emily Conroy-Krutz

Class of '22
Personnel, Christian Ed

Nancy Frank

Class of '21
Administration, Mission

Bill Given

Class of ’21
Stewardship, Nominating

Laurin Gierman

Class of '21
Christian Ed

Gretchen Hill

Class of '22
Worship & Music

Carl Lira

Class of ’20
Communications & Engagement

Deb Major

Class of ’20
Parish Life

Doug Paterson

Class of ’20
Administration, Stewardship, Endowment

Tom Schaberg

Class of ’20
Personnel, Communications & Engagement, Worship & Music

Gary Sturk

Class of '22
Administration, Property, Endowment

Patty Wilson

Class of '21

Board of Deacons

  • The ministry of the deacon as set forth in scripture is one of sympathy, witness and service, after the example of our Lord Jesus Christ. It is the duty of the deacons to care for those in need. It is a ministry of caring, a ministry of love, a ministry of compassion and a ministry of prayer. To be an effective deacon one needs to express compassion, kindness, empathy, sensibility, patience, courage, enthusiasm, goodness and a passion for caring for others. It is also important that deacons spend devotional time exploring ways to grow in their own faith. Board of Deacon members serve a 3 year term, are elected and ordained by the congregation to assist the pastors in congregational care with the following areas of focus: visitations, meals for those in difficult circumstances, worship recordings, transportation, sanctuary flower delivery, cards and special occasion greetings, weddings and funeral/memorial service receptions, valet parking. Deacons always strive to present our church as a welcoming community by visiting with current members and welcoming new visitors.
    Ministry of the Deacons
To contact the Moderator of the Deacons, use the Deacon Contact Form.

Jane Bobay

Class of '21

Brett Cone

Class of '21

Jean Cymbalski

Jennifer Gordon

Class of ’20

Terri Grady

Class of '22

Barb Hoevel

Class of ’20

Catherine Holdway

Class of '22

Sue Long

Class of '22

Sumeer Qurashi

Class of ’20

Esther Thorson

Class of '21

Jill Tribell

Class of '22

Kent Workman

Class of ’20